Troy Public Library Card Policy
Free library cards are issued to anyone who:
1. Permanently resides in Pike County
2. Owns property in Pike County
3. Attends school – grades 2-12 - in Pike County
*Other as decided by Library Director
Discounted Library Cards:
Anyone employed full time within the city limits of Troy may receive a library card for a fee of $10.00
Troy University students whose permanent residence lies outside Pike County may receive a library
card for a fee of $10.00 per year.
Anyone who does not qualify for a free or discounted library card may obtain a card for $20.00 per
year. If permanent residence of library card applicant lies outside of Pike County, only one fee-based,
non-resident card will be issued to include all members of applicant’s household.
Cards issued to minors require the signature of a parent or legal guardian. Minors under age 18 with
a valid Alabama driver's license do not require a parent or guardian's signature.
All patrons are required to furnish identification that shows a current living address and one form of
picture ID. P.O. Boxes are NOT acceptable. Patrons who qualify under #2 or #3 must also show proof
of property ownership or school attendance.
If permanent residence of library card applicant lies outside of Pike County, only one fee-based, non-
resident card will be issued to include all members of applicant’s household.
Acceptable forms of identification include:
• Driver's license
• State of Alabama ID card issued through Pike County
• Current bills or receipts that show physical address
• Paycheck stub
• Troy Housing Authority ID PLUS a Social Security card
• Proof of ownership of a home in Pike County
• Current Passport
Other documents as approved by Library Director
Library cards are renewable at expiration date if patron still qualifies for a free card. Please do not
throw card away.
$5.00 replacement charge for an adult library card
$10.00 2nd and subsequent replacement cards
$2.00 replacement charge for a juvenile library card
Statement of Responsibility:
You are responsible for the use of your card. You are responsible for any damage done to library
materials and by signing Statement of Responsibility you agree to pay the cost of replacement of lost
or damaged materials checked out to you, as defined by the Library Material Replacement Cost
Policy. You also agree to pay a fine of twenty (20) cents per day for materials that are not returned
on time ($1.00/day for video and DVDs).
By signing the application the parent or legal guardian agrees to accept full responsibility for
materials borrowed, lost, or damaged and any fines incurred by the juvenile when they sign the
application for a juvenile. Lost or stolen cards should be reported immediately to the Library.